1.) Consider the following Viceroys of India during the British rule:

  1. Lord Curzon
  2. Lord Chelmsford
  3. Lord Hardinge
  4. Lord Irwin

Which one of the following is the correct chronological order of their tenure?

(a) 1, 3, 2, 4 (b) 2, 4, 1, 3 (c) 1, 4, 2, 3 (d) 2, 3, 1, 4

Answer (a)

Lord Curzon (1899-1905); Lord Chelmsford (1916-1921); Lord Hardinge (1910-1916); Lord Irwin (1926-1931).

2.) Consider the following princely States of the British rule in India:

  1. Jhansi
  2. Sambalpur
  3. Satara

The correct chronological order in which they were annexed by the British is:

(a) 1, 2, 3 (b) 1, 3, 2 (c) 3, 2, 1 (d) 3, 1, 2

Answer (c)

These princely states were annexed by Lord Dalhousie under Doctrine of Lapse. Jhansi – 1854, Sambalpur- 1849 and Satara – 1848.

3.) Consider the following statements:

  1. In the Third Battle of Panipat, Ahmed Shah Abdali defeated Ibrahim Lodi.
  2. Tipu Sultan was killed in the Third Anglo-Mysore War.
  3. Mir Jafar entered in a conspiracy with the English for the defeat of Nawab Siraj-ud-Daulah in the Battle of Plassey.

Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

(a) 1, 2 and 3 (b) 3 only (c) 2 and 3 (d) None

Answer (b)

In the first Battle of Panipat (1526), Ibrahim Lodi was defeated by Babur. In the Third Battle of Panipat (1761), Ahmed Shah Abdali defeated Marathas. Tipu Sultan was killed in the fourth Anglo-Mysore War (1799).

4.) Which one of the following places did Kunwar Singh, a prominent leader of the Revolt of 1857 belong to?

(a) Bihar (b) Madhya Pradesh (c) Rajasthan (d) Uttar Pradesh

Answer (a)

Kunwar Singh belonged to a royal Ujjaini house of Jagdispur, currently a part of Bhojpur district, Bihar state.

5.) Which one of the following territories was not affected by the Revolt of 1857?

(a) Jhansi (b) Chittor (c) Jagdishpur (d) Lucknow

Answer (b)

Leader: Jhansi – Rani Laxmibai; Lucknow – Begum Hazrat Mehal; Jagdishpur (Bihar)- Kunwar Singh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *